Skip to content

March 30, 2012

In the memoir, The Names, I find myself having a hard time really engaging. Momaday’s style and type of writing is so one of a kind that I find myself re reading most of the pages I had just read. One part of the book that I found this to be true was starting on page 72 he writes the boy and this boy. The whole time I was reading this I kept asking myself who is this boy? Is this boy him? Because he goes on in the next pages using I. I think it is an interesting way of writing, however a confusing one. He is saying the boy, so I assume it is someone else but really it is him, or so I believe.

Even though his writing tends to be confusing and somewhat hard to follow, his use of photography throughout his memoir is very important. A memoir is all about an individual’s life. And in Names, when Momaday uses these pictures of his childhood and family members, it almost helps the reader to engage more. For me at least, I was able to relate because I have similar pictures of those from my childhood. For example, on page 62 there is a picture of him on a play horse. Almost every child has that picture.

I think his usage of photos really help the readers engage  not only in his life story but his culture.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. SRM permalink

    good point about the photographs–in many ways, the ground and clarify the other aspects of the narrative that are more confusing. elaborate your reading of the photographs, go further with this idea.

Leave a comment